midwifery licensure in CA - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 5 Old 01-29-2011, 06:12 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

We are currently in the process of looking at possible places to move in the next few years if DH can't find work here in Washington State after he graduates his woodworking school.  So I'm looking at a few places in CA (Grass Valley, Chico, Santa Cruz, maybe others?)

My question is about CA midwifery licensure.  I'm a midwife here in WA (currently not practicing, being a SAHM but will start up a practice in the next few years.)  It seems that WA and CA have reciprocity of licensure which is good.  However I read that CA requires a midwife to have an OB who "oversees" her and needs to sign something to that measure before she can be licensed?  How in the world does that work if I was to move to a new place without knowing any OBs there...Not to mention I am sure that many OBs flat out will not support homebirth MWs (that is the case here so I am sure it is similar there.)

CA MWs, how does this work?

Midwife mama bellycast.gif to DD1 bouncy.gif (4.5) and DD2 h20homebirth.gif (1.5)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 5 Old 02-10-2011, 01:24 PM

Location: Where creepy facebook-featured threads can't find me
Quoted: 4 Post(s)

My guess the best plan would be to join with a group of midwives to get those connections. I believe at least some of the midsives practice in small groups, so they can share responsibilities.

#3 of 5 Old 02-11-2011, 10:15 AM

Yes, this is true, but I do not know of any CPM that have OB back up, BECAUSE OB's mal practice ins will NOT allow them to back up a CPM/LM. So, that is how it is worked around. Law requires it, Ins will not allow it, so it is not done. http://www.californiamidwives.org/ I suggest looking into California Association of Midwifes (CAM). It is a great support for issues such as this.