Hi there, + APPEN on the Peninsula? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 11 Old 04-05-2011, 06:15 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hello ladies smile.gif I wanted to introduce myself.  I'm generally a lurker on these forums, but I'm relocating to the Peninsula (probably San Mateo) this summer, and so I thought I'd say "hi".  My name is Maia, I'm a 34 year-old grad student, and I have an 11 month old boy.  We (plus doggy and daddy) are VERY excited to be moving to a sunnier climate from dark, damp Seattle, although I am a little anxious about the car-culture and all that stuff that I associate with California.  We're going to rent at first, and we're thinking of trying to do that somewhere within walking distance of San Mateo--any thoughts on that?

Also, I was wondering if anyone knows if APPEN--Attachment Parents of the Peninsula--still exists?  I wanted to join, but I wasn't able to due to a Paypal problem on their web page, and then my email to the coordinator was not answered.  Anyone a member or have info?  Is there another group that might be useful for getting to know folks, getting situated, finding a caregiver, etc. in and around San Mateo?

Thanks!

#2 of 11 Old 04-06-2011, 01:20 PM

hey there! APPEN still exists and is very active.

i STILL Have not become a member, but i have met a bunch of the mamas and it seems great.

we are new to the peninsula.... well, we moved here in august... and i am not too much of a fan. EVERYTHING is a drive and we moved here from the desert so we feel like its always chilly, rainy and overcast. But im sure its nothing compared to where you are!!!

hope you get APPEN figured out soon!

~jen~ )O( mama to k 07/05 o 5/08 and c 12/09
#3 of 11 Old 04-06-2011, 06:18 PM - Thread Starter

Tallulahma: Oh boy--chilly and rainy?  And everything's a drive? Darn!  Do you mind if I ask which town you live in?

#4 of 11 Old 04-08-2011, 11:29 AM