First time mom needs advice on not vaccinating baby - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 10 Old 10-08-2011, 08:01 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hello,

I am new to motherhood and have decided not to vaccinate my baby. I'm not sure what to do after making this decision. I would like to hear from others who have chosen the same and what your experiences have been as far as schooling and daycare, also finding a pediatrician who will support. I am in California by the way. 

Thank you!

member234098 likes this.
#2 of 10 Old 10-08-2011, 08:26 PM

Quoted: 2 Post(s)

We do not do vaccinations for our kids either.  DD1 is 3, so school has not been an issue, and we plan on homeschooling, so again, not an issue.  As far as doctors, interviewing has been our best way  of finding people.  I would make sure to ask what the policy is for fevers.  I say this because we had  a ped. who was ok with us not vaccinating,  but then when DD1 had a fever, suddenly wanted to do a spinal tap.  

In California, your right to refuse vaccinations are protected, so anything associated with the state, you can opt out.  I don't know how it is with daycare (I checked with preschools and every one had an opt out form).

Good luck and I am sure  other moms will have more to share.

member234098 and kairajatan like this.

SAHM to Chloe«- 6/2008 (10 lbs, 5 oz), Hannah- 9/2010 (9 lbs, 12 oz), Liam- 2/2013 (9 lbs, 6 oz)

#3 of 10 Old 10-08-2011, 10:04 PM

C

kairajatan likes this.
#4 of 10 Old 10-08-2011, 10:39 PM

Quoted: 3 Post(s)

The same exemption form is used for daycare/preschool through 12th grade.

Here it is.

http://www.cdph.ca.gov/programs/immunize/Documents/pm286b.pdf

Print it out, double sided, on light blue paper.  Check boxes A and E on front. On the back there are two places to sign--one for vaccines and the other for the TB test, which is an injection, so most non-vaccinating parents decline that as well.