Homebirth in Alaska ? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 34 Old 12-10-2009, 04:16 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
DH is considering becoming an Alaska State Trooper and I'm a student Midwife so I'm interested in midwifery/homebirth in that state. I obviously have no idea where we would end up, but it's good to know ahead of time.

Grace: Student Midwife Christ Follower, : to 3 busy babes and to #4
#2 of 34 Old 12-10-2009, 07:01 PM

Alaska has a very vibrant midwife community here! Wasilla and Palmer in particular have a lot of homebirthing midwives and many many ladies in the "valley" have out of hospital births!

Currently I know that Via Vita Midwifery program is accepted here as a distance learning program for those wanting to become certified.

Also check out the Alaska Birth Network in my siggy. Look at the provider guide for a list of some of our local midwives.
#3 of 34 Old 12-11-2009, 01:07 PM

That's good to know. I'm moving to Anc in 20 days. I have had two wonderful births with two different midwives in two different states. Looking to make it three in three different states!! I will be seeing you at the NEtwork!!

Sue

Sue, mama to Spitfire (4/06) energy.gif, a Firecracker (9/08) blahblah.gif, and Chill baby (3/12)namaste.gif

signcirc1.gif bfinfant.giffamilybed2.gif

#4 of 34 Old 12-11-2009, 05:49 PM

fairbanks has a pretty good midwife group here too. there are several 'approved' training programs sot hat probably wont be a problem. Who are you working through now? Laws for midwifery require licencing for working (or you know the student / trainer thing) and are pretty good... anything 'high risk' normally midwives can't attend but all low risk is possible.

with him becoming a trooper you may end up somewhere smaller but there are plenty of midwives in ak who would be happy to point you int he right direction.