Mothering Forum banner

The scoop on midwifery in Hawaii

16K views 30 replies 16 participants last post by  Sharon vd K 
#1 ·
Aloha island mamas! (or those who hope to soon be :) I am a midwife in Hawaii. as well as the mama of my 5 and 3 year old. I was surfing the internet last night, googled hawaii midwife and came across this forum. After reading quite a few posts I see that many of you have discovered that there isn't much information out there about midwifery in Hawaii. I had the same experience when I was looking to move here from Idaho. I couldn't find anything about midwifery in Hawaii! Anything I did find was completely outdated. Now that I live here I know why.... no one is on the computer much, the weather is too beautiful!

Anyway, I did end up moving here and currently have a home birth midwifery practice on the Big Island in North Kohala (islandmamasmidwifery.com). I also created a website for the Midwives Alliance of Hawaii (www.midwiveshawaii.com), and wanted to open this thread so that I can answer any questions you might have about birth in Hawaii.

-Dani Kennedy, CPM, LM

MAH Secretary

#3 ·
Thanks! I'm currently studying midwifery, not for a career in midwifery, just so there is one more midwife for the low-income mamas in the Hilo/Pahoa area. A lot of moms down here are put in a position of either go to Hilo Med or have an unassisted birth when they don't want one because they aren't able to pay midwife fees. There's Waimea, but it's a 3 hour drive. My last labor was 2 hours and I ended up going unassisted, even though I wanted a midwife.

Thanks for the resources!

#4 ·
Hi there!

Thank you so much for starting this thread! I am a CPM licensed in the state of Texas and my husband and I have been planning to move to Hawaii to years. I got quite discouraged though when I started reading online about the state of midwifery in Hawaii. Could you shed light on a few details for me?