AK homeschoolers-Allotment! - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 52 Old 08-16-2008, 03:56 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
This is my first year getting the allotment. I'm stoked! :

How do you use yours? Aside from standard curriculum and classes(art, music, gymnastics etc) what do you spend it on? How have you creatively spent it?
#2 of 52 Old 08-17-2008, 01:58 AM

lots of art and science projects!
#3 of 52 Old 08-17-2008, 01:58 AM

also german by rosetta stone
#4 of 52 Old 08-17-2008, 06:00 PM

We buy a lot of books with it. Twindly has a book fair at least twice a year and we can have the cost of books taken right out of our allotments. We bought a bunch of stuff at Learning Essentials in Wasilla last year -- games, art stuff, etc. This year we bought a computer with Aiden's allotment. I don't have to really buy any curriculum for either kid, so am not sure how I'm using the money this year. I am hoping they can do swimming lessons with it, but I have to look into that one.
#5 of 52 Old 08-17-2008, 08:12 PM - Thread Starter

Cool! Do any of you purchase *toys*? Marble runs, Legos, board games? If so, do you get any flack for doing so? Is it easy to justify the use of these items?
#6 of 52 Old 08-18-2008, 12:58 AM

We have tons of homeschoolers that use part of theirs on our programs (science), which are almost always organized through your HS office (Idea, Twindly, CSS, etc.)

: Karen, wife to my : Mad Scientist and mama to :Emma (10-21-03).
I spend my days : : and seeing how many smilies I can fit in my siggy.
#7 of 52 Old 08-19-2008, 05:57 PM

I'm sure she'll respond herself but I know spruce has gotten legos and thing with it with I believe no problem...

transtichel.gifAk Hippie mama  ribbonpb.gifYamia  DSD '03 blahblah.gif  DS '07 ribboncesarean.gif  DS2 '09  hbac.gif & DS3  uc.jpg '12

homeschool.gifwinner.jpgfamilybed2.gifnovaxnocirc.gifcd.gifgd.gif

#8 of 52 Old 08-19-2008, 09:38 PM