Visiting Ottawa in February--help from Ottawa moms? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 01-28-2009, 03:41 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi Ottawa Mamas,

We are visiting my MIL in Ottawa in February for a long weekend. My son is 3 years old. What are some of your favorite things to do in town with your children, and with the wintry weather? Just wanted to get some ideas, so we are not completely dependent on my MIL (who is great, but a little kooky and out of it).

Also, can you tell me your favorite restaurant(s)? DH and I are planning to have a romantic valentine's day date, and I'd love to go somewhere that's been personally recommended.

Thanks so much!!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-28-2009, 07:04 PM

Well, I'm no expert on Ottawa (we live nearly 60 miles away), but I can tell you what my 3.5 yo enjoys when we spend time there.

The Museum of Nature (http://nature.ca/nature_e.cfm ) Yes, half of it is under renovation, but the other half includes the mammal and dino exhibits and I hear they are getting an exhibit on chimpanzees at the end of January. We could spend all day there (mind you, they have a lunchroom, but only vending machines, so bring your own lunch if you do this). There are activities for preschoolers - a dressup theater on the second floor and a wild bird rescue playcentre on the fourth floor - but sheesh, my kids spent over half an hour playing in a little "cave" under the "ice" in the polar bear diorama.

The Agriculture Museum (http://www.agriculture.technomuses.ca/ ) Admission is free to the animal barns at this time of year. If you have a nature or animal lover, they have horses, cows, calves, sheep, pigs.... and at this time of year, NO crowds, so your little one can get up close and spend some time checking them out. I think the exhibit on tractors is open and free too.