Giving birth in Montreal - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 3 Old 11-21-2011, 08:01 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hello,

I'm expecting my first baby next summer, and now I'm looking for a hospital where I can deliver. I'd love to have a natural birth (no unnecessary medication, and most importantly, C-section only when absolutely required). I'm probably too late for a midwife and I'm already thinking of using the help of a doula.

As hospital, I'd consider St. Mary's, Lasalle, Jewish General and Royal Vic, but I have no idea how to select one (or worse: how to find a doctor that I'm comfortable with). For the Royal Vic, I've read some really horrible stories, but they already happened a few years ago. Unfortunately, I'm pretty new to Montreal, and I don't really know anybody personally that I could ask for help.  

How did you pick the hospital for your delivery? Did you go have a look at the birthing centre? Or did you go by word of mouth?

Do you have any recent experiences with any of those four hospitals? I'd love to hear your stories and recommendations!

And finally: Do you know an ob/gyn doctor you can recommend who will support a natural birth?

Thanks,

Juliette2012

PS: I wouldn't have thought that coming from a western European country, the health systems here and back there are so different...

#2 of 3 Old 03-27-2012, 11:05 AM