Anyone deliver at Austin Area Birthing Center? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 22 Old 07-01-2009, 06:38 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I'm 5 weeks pregnant and taking a tour in a week. Has anyone delivered there? I know their fee is $4500 without insurance, but they said all insurance companies view them as out-of-network. I'm 90% sure I'm going to go with them as opposed to my OB (Dr. Sebestyen) but just wanted some feedback!

7/09 at 7 weeks - love you peanut
#2 of 22 Old 07-01-2009, 06:48 PM

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
I am a senior midwife student and a former Respiratory Therapist who worked at North Austin Medical Center. I also did some birth assistant work at AABC a few years ago. My advice is to go with a homebirth midwife.

Lisa
#3 of 22 Old 07-01-2009, 07:36 PM - Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by Georgetown HB Mom View Post
I am a senior midwife student and a former Respiratory Therapist who worked at North Austin Medical Center. I also did some birth assistant work at AABC a few years ago. My advice is to go with a homebirth midwife.

Lisa
Would you mind elaborating? I'm just curious if you had a bad experience with AABC or if you are just partial to homebirthing.

7/09 at 7 weeks - love you peanut
#4 of 22 Old 07-01-2009, 09:55 PM

I haven't delivered there. But I have heard several different opinions of it from different women. I think it depends on your expectations and what kind of birth experience you want. Ask LOTS of questions on your tour and try your best this early to see if it's a good match. And then remember that no matter who you choose at the beginning it's never too late to switch care providers until that babe is in your arms!

xoxo

Mama to two beautiful sons Wife to DH
#5 of 22 Old 07-02-2009, 01:31 AM