if i relocate to new mexico from texas should I request a vaccine exemption form before I move and a homeschool question? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 5 Old 05-15-2013, 04:53 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I know the approval process for the exemption could take up to 60 days so would it be best to apply before moving? I have 1 homeschooled student and 1 public school student. I wouldn't want him to have to miss school while we wait. this is far off but just kicking around my options. for homeschool I don't have a copy of my diploma but do have my highschool transcript showing I graduated, would that count or should I obtain a copy if we move? thanks for any info smile.gif

I just love the way kisses make ''booboo's'' all better.
#2 of 5 Old 05-16-2013, 08:35 AM

Maybe try this website: http://thsc.org/homeschooling-in-texas/ hopefully it can help you with homeschool stuff.  I think it's pretty easy to homeschool in Texas, relative to other states.

I have no idea about the vaccine exemption...I know a lot of people use the religious exemption quite a bit, but I have no idea how long that would take.  Perhaps one of the larger school districts would have some info on their website.  Dallas, Houston, Austin, San Antonio, etc.

Me (27) married to my DH (28) for 8 years.  Happy mama to babygirl.gif born May 2012!  Also,  parents to dog2.gif, chicken3.gif, and a rabbit. 

#3 of 5 Old 05-17-2013, 03:28 PM

Quoted: 3 Post(s)

I think the OP was moving from Texas to New Mexico.  I would get a copy of your diploma now (better to have it and not need it than need it and not have it.)  Do you have an address in NM that you can have mail sent to?  I know that NM governmental entities do not want to deal with you until you reside in the state.  I would make sure your Texas exemption in current, and then file for the NM exemption as soon as you have an address in New Mexico.