Looking for people interested in starting our own co-op preschool in Seattle. - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 9 Old 12-24-2009, 02:38 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi All,

I would love to start a co-op with other AP parents. I'm a certified teacher for k-8 and will soon be endorsed in early childhood education. I'm also a former Peace Corps Volunteer who has taught in some pretty diverse environments. My family has been trying to find a co-op in the Seattle area that will allow me to wear my 9 month-old during my 2.5 year-old's class. All of the co-ops that I have contacted have declined. So I thought, why not try to start an AP co-op in Seattle with other parents who are passionate about the benefits of AP.
Working together, we could create the curriculum based on a number of templates/models available online or that someone else may already be familiar with and prefer. We can set the times and location that work best for us. If anyone is interested please let me know! I'm very excited about the possibility. If something like this already exists, I'd love to hear about it!

Best regards,

Taylor
#2 of 9 Old 12-24-2009, 04:11 AM

Not trying to discourage you from forming your own but have you tried King Street Co-op? When I was looking there, they allowed you to bring your infant with on your work day.

Lisa, mama to A (3/05) and R (11/07) and L (8/10)
#3 of 9 Old 12-29-2009, 05:02 AM

I encountered the same frustration with my 2.5 yr old and baby combo. I love the idea.

Most of the more alternative co-ops (King Street, University, etc) I found were full-time and that was too much for my tastes. I wanted some enriching educational opportunities on the scale of 2-3 times a week 2-3 hours at a time.