Middleton, Idaho - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 15 Old 01-19-2010, 01:04 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
So, my hubby and I just put an offer down on a house in Middleton today (sight unseen, though that will change in March and our offer is contingent on us liking it in person). Looking for homeschool, hb groups in the area. I'm also a midwife in my current state but don't currently qualify to practice in Idaho. Anyone know of a midwife or midwives that practice around that area and would be interested in an assistant?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 15 Old 01-23-2010, 04:19 PM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Try The Baby Place in Meridian. Wonderful bunch of ladies. Welcome to Idaho!!!
#3 of 15 Old 01-23-2010, 04:33 PM - Thread Starter

Thanks!
#4 of 15 Old 01-27-2010, 05:48 PM

Welcome! We moved to Star (just down the road from Middleton) from Texas about 6 months ago and we love it here. Middleton is pretty nice, and though personally I prefer to be closer to Boise, you will be closer to Nampa and Caldwell which have a lot to offer in terms of shopping, services, etc.

I was 36 weeks pregnant when we moved and had a homebirth with Rose & Ian Penwell (www.thenaturalalternativemidwifery.com). I also second the recommendation for The Baby Place (www.thebabyplacehome.com) although they are so busy at the birth center, they don't do homebirths. Also check out www.idahomidwives.org . I don't know if you are aware, but Idaho passed legislation last spring and will soon be licensing direct-entry midwives. I think you basically have to be a CPM to be licensed, though, with a few narrow exceptions.

If you need any recommendations for doctors, chiros, churches, grocery stores, etc, let me know.

There are a TON of homeschooling resources in Idaho. Someone emailed me a list when I first moved here, and I am just going to cut & paste it for you below :