Contemplating a move from East Coast to Seattle - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 5 Old 02-13-2013, 01:07 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi! My husband and I are contemplating a huge move. I am an attorney and expect that I would work downtown (not close enough to start the job search). Obviously if that isn't the case we will reconsider but assuming that I am working in the city, we have some questions about where we would live.

A little about us:
-34 and 40 years old with two children 3 and 6 months.
-number one priority is access to high quality education
-want a safe neighborhood in walking distance to parks,preferably with a back yard
-would love to be walking distance to a few restaurants and shopping
-would love to have access to public transportation

We would love to be in the city,but I understand that the public schools in the city are no good. If we had to send our children to private school, is it affordable? Close by? Terribly snobby? What are some good in city neighborhoods?

Assuming that good schools in the city aren't an option, what about east side towns? Any better or worse in light of what we are looking for?

Next, what are the laws regarding vaccination waivers and homebirth? We are delaying/selectively vaxxing and I will want to have a home birth if I am ever pregnant again.

Thanks so much in advance!

Happy fly-by-nursing1.giffamilybed2.giffemalesling.GIF, delayed/selective vaxxing, WOHM to DD1 4/10 diaper.gif, DD2 8/12 babygirl.gif and partner/wife for thirteen years to SAHD DHsuperhero.gif.  

#2 of 5 Old 02-13-2013, 04:26 PM

I've only lived here just over 3 years, but we're in Ravenna and I love the area. Close to good schools, eating and shopping. Not sure if your price range though, it's a higher priced area.  Good access to downtown and buses.