Pregnant and Single - Mothering Forums

#1 of 7 Old 02-14-2006, 06:50 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi, I am new to all this. I am 3months along and kind of nervous, it seems people have no shortage of advise and all wants to tell me how I dont know and should do it thier way. Does anyone else feel like they just want everyone to mind their own business and let you make your own choices?
Marisha
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 7 Old 02-14-2006, 08:49 PM

yup!

I think it's much easier to do that when you've done enough research to have educated and smart rebuttals to their 'advice'. Like when my FIL asked me what I was going to do for anaesthesia, and I told him that there were no safe options for drugs during labor and therefore I would be giving birth naturally. He said a prayer that my child would be only five pounds (b/c I'm petite), that I wouldn't tear past my episiotomy, and that I wouldn't gain more than 15 pounds!
Some of it you just have to smile and nod about. You can't make every idiot smart! I love my FIL, but his information is SO outdated he's dangerous!
#3 of 7 Old 02-14-2006, 11:10 PM

Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeosMama
I think it's much easier to do that when you've done enough research to have educated and smart rebuttals to their 'advice'.

"A computer once beat me at chess, but it was no match for me at kick boxing." ~ Emo Philips tea6.gif

Me, DH, DS1, DS2, November 2012 brokenheart.gif, July 2013 brokenheart.gif, March 2014 brokenheart.gif

candle.gif Waiting on my SunshineBaby om.gif

#4 of 7 Old 02-14-2006, 11:14 PM

Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Smiling and nodding, as stated by the PP as well, also seems to be an excellent tool to master.

"A computer once beat me at chess, but it was no match for me at kick boxing." ~ Emo Philips tea6.gif