Help with wool - Mothering Forums

#1 of 7 Old 01-29-2009, 07:50 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I'm pretty new to using wool. DD is 2.5 and we've used wool over fitteds around the house, generally first thing in the morning before we go out. I honestly pretty much NEVER wash the wool, just let it air out.

I recently bought her a wool interlock soaker. It's adorable and she loves it, so we've been wearing it more. However, lately she just pees right through it (and thus soaks her pants too). I assume it needs to be lanolised. I've never done that before. I want to buy some wool wash and/or lanolising stuff that is very easy to use (maybe something I could put in a delicate cold cycle in my washing machine? or something I could just spray on?) I do not want any scents. I'm very very sensitive to scented detergents and such. What would you recommend?

I'm pregnant and planning to use mostly fitted and wool next time around. I've already started buying some tiny newborn wool on diaperswappers. One of the wool soakers I bought has a very strong scent to it. Any recommendations on getting the smell out? I want to have the whole wash and care of wool pretty much down before this little one makes an appearance.

SAHM to flower.gif DD1 8/06 , loveeyes.gif DD2 8/09 , and bfinfant.gifDD3 9/12  married to geek.gif 6/99.  We homeschool.gif, cd.gif, homebirth.jpg, familybed2.gif, and lots of wash.gif and dishes.gif.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 7 Old 01-29-2009, 07:54 PM

I'm running out the door, but here are two gems

I think SudsNDudz has an unscented wool wash bar. I find their soap to work well.

Check out the video on greenmountaindiapers.com about lanolizing a cover. It's short and easy and I found it super helpful.

HTH

Lucy, mama to Silas and Adelaide
#3 of 7 Old 01-29-2009, 07:57 PM

Eucalan makes an unscented version as well. Also use a little Lansinoh. I second the green mountain video.