Funny question: Anyone doing "scholarly" research on the CD cottage industry? - Mothering Forums

#1 of 7 Old 09-25-2004, 02:21 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I've been CDing for 4 months, and just loving it. I'm intrigued by the entire culture of the on-line cloth diapering community, and in particular, the business aspects of the cottage industry for cloth diapers. WAHMs and marketing, use of the internet, the trade/barter process for used diapers, pricing, product development, cloth diapering movement in the US/other countries, political/social/economic forces at work, etc.

I've always known I would go back to get my doctorate degree - and since becoming a mama I've thought it would be something related to women's studies in speech communication. I've seriously become intrigued with specifically cloth diapers, and their myriad of implications at so many levels (communication and business/economics/social/political). Is anyone on this board or that you know of in your life conducting empirical research on any aspect of the cloth diapering industry? I would love to see some journal articles or conference presentations that relate to this - particularly in the area of communication or business/cottage industry or sociology....

Thanks in advance!
Becky
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 7 Old 09-25-2004, 03:43 PM

ooohhhh, intriguing question Becky! I haven't seen anything- have you done any internet searches?
#3 of 7 Old 09-25-2004, 04:41 PM

I'm sooooooo interested to see what you find. :

#4 of 7 Old 09-25-2004, 04:51 PM - Thread Starter

I teach at a local comm college so I'm going to connect through their subscribed databases and do some searches on peer-reviewed journals ... thought I would check here, too to see what I could find. When I do my search, I'll let you know what I dig up....

PhD, here I come....
#5 of 7 Old 09-25-2004, 05:54 PM

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)