Just switched to cloth diapers and trying to figure out what is causing diaper rash - Mothering Forums

#1 of 10 Old 05-20-2007, 10:07 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
We have only been using them for a week or so and still use a disposable at night and sometimes for outings (but am getting away from that if I could figure something out for nightime that won't leak). My dd has developed a little rash on her bottom and also on her thighs. We use happy heiny's most of the time and sometimes fuzzi bunz. I wash with vinegar in a downy ball and tide. I have started changing her more often, but the rash is still flaring up. It seems worse when we put a disposable on which doesn't make sense to me b/c she used to always wear those. Any thoughts on what could be causing it? Also what is a detergent I can use for really sensitive skin? I am very new at this...
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 10 Old 05-20-2007, 10:46 PM

No question Tide. It's SO HARD to get Tide to actually wash out- even with 1 or 2 TBSP of Tide Free it would take my washer 4-6 entire cycles to get it out. I would suggest stripping them- there's a bunch of different strip methods- anything from Dawn to using the dishwasher. Then maybe make a detergent switch to Allens or I've heard Purex F&C works for lots of people. Does the rash look like spots or a burn? If it's more like a burn then it's way too much detergent- if they're like mini-flea-bite type spots then it's more likely a sensitivity issue. HTH, I'm sure you'll get more responses Hang in there, it takes a bit to get your wash cycle down- hard and soft water also make a difference.
#3 of 10 Old 05-20-2007, 11:21 PM

I use ceramic laundry balls on my cd. They seem to work really well but I am also fairly new to the cd scene. I ordered the laundry balls from Urban Homemakers.

#4 of 10 Old 05-20-2007, 11:49 PM