Good soft sandwich bread recipe - Mothering Forums

#1 of 5 Old 03-14-2008, 02:55 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I am an experienced baker and can make pretty much anything, but I am in need of a good soft textured sandwich bread for my DH, he loves PB & J and has to have "soft" bread. I make great breads, but the texture is more crumbly than soft and light. Any ideas would be appreciated, TIA Erin.

Me Wife to T (14 years)Mama to Princess(4) and Monster Boy(my 1 year old ):
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 5 Old 03-14-2008, 09:42 PM

Have you tried a recipe with egg(s)? I find that I have better results getting a good non-crumbly sandwich bread when I use a recipe that has eggs in it. I know there's a couple of highly-rated ones at www.allrecipes.com, so you might want to head over there and see what strikes your fancy.

I don't have a totally TNT one, as I'm more of an artisanal-bread baker unless we have a bread machine : which we don't at the moment. But I have tried some of the ones there and you might be able to use or adapt one.

HTH.
#3 of 5 Old 03-16-2008, 01:31 PM

I just started baking bread and use the whole wheat bread recipe from BackHome magazine (Jan/Feb 2008 issue). It is very soft and fluffy. The basic point of the recipe is to use potato water (left over from boiling potatoes) to heat up for the yeast. It also uses very little yeast, just whole wheat flour, yeast, salt and a little honey or other sweetener. My son loves it for sandwiches!

Kris wife to Stew and mom to Joey 8/03 who cares for , 2 frogs and a worm

#4 of 5 Old 03-16-2008, 05:29 PM

To make bread soft add 1 small potato mashed up with about 1/2 c. of the potato boiling water to any basic bread recipe, and replace abut 1/3 - 1/2 of the water with milk. This will give a very tender crust.
I can give you my exact recipe if you are interested, but I'm nak'ing right not.
#5 of 5 Old 03-17-2008, 01:14 AM