Teach me PLEASE! - Mothering Forums

#1 of 4 Old 03-04-2005, 05:45 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hello...my name is Kristen. I just posted a bit about myself in the intro thread so I won't bore you all with those details again. Anyways...I'm new to this idea of child-lead weaning. Where I grew up it is rare to see a mother nursing beyond 6 months and consequently nobody thinks I can last that long forget beyond a year. But now I'm in a new community, one that is very supportive of natural living and as far as I know extended nursing. At least its not unheard of here even if some people still do the eye-roll thing. Anyways I was just wondering if you all could teach me about clw a little bit. I know every kid is different but when do most wean themselves? I know all of the great benefits of nursing for the first year but are there any specific to nursing beyond that? Logistically how does it work? I've never seen a 2 or 3 year old nursing so I guess I want to know what position you would use? What's it like to a verbal child nursing? Are there any disadvantages to clw (other than how long it could take or the "inconvience" factor)? Any great sites about clw would be great too! Thanks so much everyone. I know you all will be so supportive and helpful...and without a doubt I will be turning here when the journey gets difficult. I have little clw support anywhere else
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 4 Old 03-04-2005, 06:45 PM

Kristen!
It's wonderful that you're jumping right in and asking questions! It sounds like you are doing a great job of following your heart and your instincts despite a lack of a tight support network. Good for you!

I know every kid is different but when do most wean themselves?