nursing 3yo leaving teeth marks - Mothering Forums

#1 of 7 Old 03-31-2007, 03:02 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I hope this is the right place to post this, I'm new to this, but I am looking for any help,support or advice with a nursing 3yo who leaves deep teeth indentions on the areola, just beside the base of my nipple. It's not so painful as it is irritating. I believe in CLW, but have really hit a rough patch and nursing is not so enjoyable for me as it used to be. Now dd has yet another cold, so on top of the teeth digging in, she can't breathe in thru her nose and latches on and off constantly. I'm finding myself gritting my teeth, watching the clock, wishing she would fall asleep, my neck and shoulders get tense, aaagh this is not how I want my experience of nursing to be. I try to explain to dd but all she wants is her nahnah's, and if she's tired, it is the only way she'll go to sleep. I wonder if it's just a poor latch situation or dwindling milk supply that cause her to clamp down so hard on me? I just don't know where else to go for help or what to do... Thanks to anyone who has any suggestions or input. This MDC is great, but so far all I've ever done is read it.

Mama to Alex 8/00, Em 1/04 : :
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 7 Old 03-31-2007, 07:06 PM

I have that problem when my son is being lazy or has fallen asleep.
I would suggest finding a good book, magazine or watch a tv show when she is nursing if you are having problems feeling tense or just wanting it to be over with. I know I have days like that with my son. I dont think it has anythig to do with nursing but more so daily stresses or just having a bad day in general.
I hope that helps!
#3 of 7 Old 04-15-2007, 12:51 PM

Quoted: 2 Post(s)