Best weaning celebration/remembering the breastfeeding years ideas? - Mothering Forums

#1 of 7 Old 12-27-2007, 09:55 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I have been breastfeeding one child or another for almost eight years. Now my youngest child, who is to be my last child, has started the weaning process. I'm very much aware that every feed might be the last. I'd like some way to mark this period of my life, some closure, for myself (dealing with the little one's closure separately). I don't want to have a party. I was thinking of getting a sterling silver breast engraved with the weaning dates of each of my three kids, or something like that, and maybe having a ritual. Those ideas just don't seem right, or maybe those are my feelings of sadness about bringing this period of my motherhood to an end. I guess I'm looking both for ideas and a little been there done that. Am I silly to feel like this is such a big deal? Last nursing session ever?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 7 Old 12-28-2007, 02:55 AM

I totally don't think it is silly! I almost know I will have more and the thouht of him weaning makes me want to cry.

I think the braclet idea is great.

Hey I say have another DC... JUST KIDDING! Anyway, just make it special to you and then you will feel fulfilled.
#3 of 7 Old 12-28-2007, 12:21 PM - Thread Starter

Don't think I haven't thought about having another. I was so gung ho for adopting more, even up to ten kids or so, until between us we had four, and now . . . well, now, I feel like the baby care years were great, but I'm also ready to have more or my time managed by adult sensibilities. It turns out that eight years of babies was the right amount to feel fulfilled, if ykwim. I NEVER would have guessed that before I hit the right number though.

#4 of 7 Old 12-30-2007, 04:27 AM