Mothering Forums

Mothering Forums (https://www.mothering.com/forum/)
-   Allergies (https://www.mothering.com/forum/307-allergies/)
-   -   Is this okay? Homeopathic Allergy Med + BF (https://www.mothering.com/forum/307-allergies/165161-okay-homeopathic-allergy-med-bf.html)

punkprincessmama 07-05-2004 10:01 PM

Just lost my whole post

I have severe seasonal allergies, just about all year long :LOL My MIL bought me some homeopathic allergy medicine, but I am leary to take it as I am new to homeopathy and unsure what is compatible wiht BF. Here are the ingredients

Active Ingredients

Apis Mel 30x
Alium Cepa 6x
Euphrasia 6x
Histaminium 6x
Natrium Muriaticum6x
Sabadilla 6x

I gotta run as dd is pulling on me, but what do you all think? Can I take this, and hopefully get relief, while still BFing my toddler? The directions call for one tablet, twice a day or repeated hourly as needed for acute conditions. Thanks!!!

cornflake girl 07-06-2004 01:29 AM

Yes, punkmama, it is perfectly safe while breastfeeding. The beauty of homeopathic remedies is that they are safe for anyone at anytime. I took them while pregnant, while breastfeeding and I give them to my kids. Heck, I've even given a remedy to my dog!

Skim 07-06-2004 05:18 PM

I agree, they are safe to use while breastfeeding. We gave our dd homeopathic remedies as an infant for teething, and herbs for rare colic symptoms, and she still gets homeopathy for colds, etc. She's 2.5 and has had no ill effects.

Homeopathy is so great because you don't have to worry about "side effects" the way you do with drugs. It's simply too small an amount to affect your babe - or you.

punkprincessmama 07-06-2004 08:07 PM

Thank you both for your answers! I've taken the remedy twice now and it works wonderfully and quickly. i have never in my life experienced such quick relief from my allergy problems!!