What household rules do you use and what natural consequence would you use if your LO breaks the rules? - Mothering Forums

#1 of 4 Old 06-08-2009, 07:20 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I'm in process of adjusting some of my household rules and I'm still learning/struggling with applying the GD and Natural Consequences approach whenever my 6 yrs old break the rules.

I'm just curious what rules and natural consequences you guys use because I am sure many of you thought of rules or consequences that I haven't thought of that may work on my 6 yrs old.

Thanks in advance,

Here's what I have and my DH and I have to also follow the rules to set the example for the 6 yrs old:

Be respectful to others and to their things. (Say nice things and don't touch or take other people's things without asking their permission first).

Be gentle to others and animals. (Yelling, hitting, kicking, pushing, pulling or throwing things to others or animals will hurt everyone involved in the situation.)

Be truthful. (It feels good to know that others believe things you say without doubting you.)

Put things back to their place after using them. (Clean up after yourself.)

Consider going to your room to calm down when you feel really upset/angry. (It is good to have some time alone to calm down and think about what is making you upset or angry then talk about it when you've calmed down.)

I heartbeat.gif my  9/22/02  dd who likes to blahblah.gif, 4/29/09 mos old. silly & adventurous girl twins twins.gif ,  11/15/l0 girl baby.gif & my coffee drinking DH!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 4 Old 06-08-2009, 03:28 PM