How do i get dd to stop feeding the baby? - Mothering Forums

#1 of 17 Old 04-16-2008, 11:16 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
She's 21mo, so i'm pretty sure she doesn't really get it yet, but i really need to trust that she won't keep trying to shove food into 3mo ds's mouth! I've tried explaining, distracting, even yelling . She thinks it's all a big game. I wear ds as much as i can, but sometimes i do need to put him down - to cook, go pee, just for a break...
I'm not too good at GD so far. I usually resort to yelling, because that's the only thing that stops her doing whatever she's doing. I only yell for important stuff, like hitting or kicking ds, or trying to feed him. However i'd love to stop acting this way. I'm quite ashamed of myself. But it's so frustrating sometimes having to say things over and over and over. I know she's still just a babe, but i need to protect ds from her sometimes.
Any suggestions?
Trish
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 17 Old 04-16-2008, 11:22 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by pishajane View Post
I wear ds as much as i can, but sometimes i do need to put him down - to cook, go pee, just for a break...
I do get what you mean here, but I'm not sure if this means they are sometimes alone together? It seems like the baby needs to be in your direct sight (or maybe in a crib that dd cannot reach). Like you said, she is to little to understand what can hurt him; I think your job here it to keep the situation from ever coming up when you are not right there next to them.

I know two under two is a big job! I'm sure others here will have good advice on GD in general with a 21 month old, I just wanted to mention the thing about them never being unattended together. I'm sure it's hard though!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Mama to my sweet girls: