Guitar/voice/music with no formal lessons? - Mothering Forums

#1 of 10 Old 05-14-2014, 08:08 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 232 Post(s)

My girls each have their own guitar.  Guitar is not the easiest instrument for young kids, but once they get the hang of the feel of it, it is nearly as easy as piano to make some noise on :p.  They want to just strum andstrum away and make songs.  

My ears get tired of hearing the progress through the cacophony.  They don't want lessons from me.  I could get them started, though too much help might give them some bad self-taught habits (though "self-taught" did include some beginning books on classical guitar.)  But they don't want my help.  At.  All.

Yesterday dd9 pulled out the tuner to tune her guitar.  It was just about bedtime and it was tuned to itself, so she just played.  She used her voice on the tuner.  SO glad she's getting conscientious about that.  Her voice is weak, but not long ago singing=yelling, so being more subtle and playing with her voice is a huge step for her.  She just needs practice feeling where those notes are.  She often finds herself in a higher register because she jumped too high and didn't step down far enough.  I sing often, especially our bedtime songs and some musicals.  

OK, we do need to get the guitars out more.  But, and I'm looking to see if I have an obvious question, can the average kid unschool music? Kids outside of highly musical families?  Moderately or somewhat musical families?  I had piano lessons, and I picked up guitar "on my own" from all the books lying around my mom's house (she studied guitar).  Funny, we never played together except one piano/guitar duet for one recital.

What else can I do to encourage music study?  Maybe they are just not interested that much?

ETA:  wow, it posted when I hit "delete", so here is the thread, warts and all.  I'll edit for errors in a minute.