supplements? - Mothering Forums

#1 of 4 Old 01-11-2004, 10:05 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
hello,
i'm a newbie around here and have been gathering a lot of information from everyone's posts. i have a 6 month old son who is not vaxed and we are not planning on vaxing in the near future, if at all.

as i read thru a lot of posts i see a lot of talk about supplements such as fish/cod liver oil, vit c and probiotics....i was hoping someone can give me the lo-down on these for someone who is hearing about them for the first time.:

are they appropiate for a 6 month old?
should i be taking them as well?
what dosages are recommended for each of us?
what brands are best?
how do you ensure that the fish oil is mercury free?

sorry for the list of questions! everyone here seems to have so much information and are so willing to help others out, so i thought i would ask. i want to do as much as i can to help my family grow as healthy as possible.

thanks

kim
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 4 Old 01-12-2004, 11:51 AM
Banned

Wow new to the boards and your first post goes to vaccines! Excellent choice momma!

are they appropiate for a 6 month old? IMHO All a 6m old needs is lots of breastmilk and sunshine and any food that he is ready to explore.

should i be taking them as well? Most folk, especially nurising moms, can use some sort of supplement just because most folk have dietary deficiencies. How's your diet? Each person eats differently and each person's body uses nutrients differently so your supplements might be different than mine. Probiotics are good to add to your diet, yogurt, kefir , or powder form. And if you take them then baby gets some through your breastmilk. Starting baby on yogurts or adding probiotics to his diet wouldn't hurt.