What does Eclectic really mean for you? - Mothering Forums

#1 of 14 Old 10-16-2004, 06:52 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
I put my ds in school x3 months and am seriously planning to take him back out.

Do you apply a method like Charlotte Mason or The Well Trained Mind to your Eclectic approach or does it have it's own method?

Any book suggestions?

Thanks all - I'm still learning - Somethings the hard way.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 14 Old 10-16-2004, 09:11 PM

Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi berry

I think you will probably get a few different answers to this, but here is mine. I started out using FIAR and Story Stretchers...both utilized good books which my dd loves and a variety of activities (art, science, writing, history). Slowly, we added a math program (Miquon) and some reading workbooks (Sullivan Readers and Pathway Readers).

I like to think my approach is child- led in that we do many things dd loves and we would do anyway. We take lots of nature walks, visit museums, take art classes and just read a lot. Our home is eclectic in that we have Waldorf inspired ideas (nature table, silks, storytelling). We also decorate seasonally and put up things like alphabet posters.

Berry, I know there are things we don't do enough of...or rather, that we would like to do more of, like science experiments. I think being eclectic is using your best ideas,,,or what you enjoy and following your child's learning style and interests. For some people, that is unschooling, others it might be classical, with a strong interest in history.

Just like school...nothing is perfect, and we learn as we go. I wish you much luck in making your decision and hope some of this makes sense!

~Joan, Happy mom to 2 beautiful kiddos, one new puppy and 2 lovely felines
#3 of 14 Old 10-16-2004, 09:12 PM