I am worried about my 4 and a half old son - Mothering Forums

#1 of 9 Old 01-08-2008, 01:22 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
OK. I am new at this. I have never posted on any message board in my life, but I have been lurking. I don't have all the little abbreviations down, so please read the following with patience and kind understanding:

I first want to say that my ds is a beautiful boy who was a planned homebirth but born via emergency cesarean in a hospital. maybe because of this and maybe because we were on medicaid at the time, I felt bullied by my doctor and got all of his shots, on schedule, even though he seemed to me to be "different" after each bout.

When he was a baby, he was "high need" we slung him everywhere, he nursed on demand, he slept with us, and he was never out of my or my dh's sight. he seemed to need us constantly, which was OK with us. I couldn't drive anywhere without my husband, because one of us had to be in the backseat with him or he would freak out. Seriously. I couldn't drive three minutes to pick my husband up that the University without him having that "rah rah" hysterical scream by block two.

When he learned to walk, he was still very high need, but also now mobile. He got into everything, wouldn't sleep ever. I just kept thinking i wasn't attachment parenting well enough or this was normal. Now I'm not so sure.

He is four now.