Getting Started/Any Tips? - Mothering Forums

#1 of 7 Old 05-28-2008, 03:32 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I'm new to cloth diapering, a WAHM mother of 7 week old boy triplets (and a darling 5 year old girl!). I use a combination of cloth and disposables right now, but I would like to make my own diapers before the cost of diapers eats me alive. BUT I've never sewn anything before. I have a very basic sewing machine, but I'm a little confused about all the information out there. Some websites say to use this material, other websites say do NOT use the same material. Some have free patterns, other patterns are a more closely guarded secret than the recipe for coke! It seems like there is so much contradicting information.

Is there anyone who can offer assistance in the basics? What kind of thread, material, patterns are best? How much will I need? Any special tips and tricks for beginning? Should I buy a pattern or use a free one?

Also, on another note, does anyone have opinions on which diapers are the easiest to get on and off? I know prefolds are the cheapest and easiest to buy or make, but my husband is recovering from a spinal injury and finds folding them with a squirmy baby quite a feat!

Thanks in advance for any help you can offer. I'm off to read the boards to teach myself more!

Darcy
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 7 Old 05-28-2008, 04:28 AM

*snip*
Quote:
Originally Posted by PrincessDarcy View Post

Is there anyone who can offer assistance in the basics? What kind of thread, material, patterns are best? How much will I need? Any special tips and tricks for beginning? Should I buy a pattern or use a free one?

Also, on another note, does anyone have opinions on which diapers are the easiest to get on and off? I know prefolds are the cheapest and easiest to buy or make, but my husband is recovering from a spinal injury and finds folding them with a squirmy baby quite a feat!