Mothering Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
172 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
We don't have an official diagnosis, but it looks like he has early/mid stage. He had the typcial "bullseye" rash, fever, aches, etc. We have decided to treat him with doxycycline (antibiotic) for 3 weeks. We have heard that the test for lyme's isn't always accurate, but don't want to take any chances.<br><br>
Has anyone had any experience with Lyme's/insight to share? I don't like the idea of him being on antibiotics for 3 weeks, but I don't want him to have future medical problems from this.<br><br>
Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
1,922 Posts
I'm not a proponent of antibiotics, but from what I hear, this is one circumstance when it's a good route. I have a few friends with Lyme, one of whom is quite organic. Even she says the best bet is to "hit it early and hit it hard."

·
Premium Member
2,420 Posts
Both my father (in his 70's now) and my Niece had lyme...my Dad's case was fairly mild and I think they consider him 'cured' after a 3 week or so course of antibiotics many years ago.<br><br>
My Niece got it in her teens (she's 26 now), and treated it then but has had it re-emerge a few times, in the form of not feeling well or extreme swelling in her knees or other joints, each time having to go on an intense 20 day treatment of antibiotic that she had to administer to herself by IV.<br><br>