Mothering Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1,613 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a financial dunce, and having to figure out anything beyond a very basic budget completely stresses me out.<br><br>
Dh left a job a couple of months ago and has a small amt (< 5k) in a 401k. We need to roll it over, but I have no idea what that means or how to do it. He is not yet eligible for 401k in his new job but will be doing that as soon as he can.<br><br>
I work as a consultant for a state agency and have a "forced retirement" account. I think it's a mutual fund account, though honestly I'm not sure. I know it is not a 401k or 403b. I am hoping to leave that job at the end of this fiscal year, and had hoped to take out that money to use for living expenses for the summer, but I don't know if I can do that without penalties? I talked with HR but they weren't really helpful, and the fund management is switching from ING to some other company, so I can't call them until the end of the month.<br><br>
I hate that I'm in my 30's with zero knowledge of how this stuff works. Can anyone give me suggestions and/or a crash course in finances?

·
Registered
8,198 Posts
First of all you: Your retirement is probably in something that (in my state) they call a Public Employee Retirement Fund. You need to sit down with someone in HR and have them explain the program to you and if you will have penalties (I'm about 99% positive you will because most do) if you withdraw the money.<br><br>
For your husband, he needs to ask his previous employer if they allow him to leave his 401(k) where it is and for what length of time. He probably can until he gets his 401(k) started at the new job. What rollover means is that he will transfer that day's current market value of his old 401(k) directly into the new 401(k) account (or Traditional IRA account if that's the way you want to go).<br><br>