Mothering Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to this message board as well as being new to cloth diapers. I have purchased Fuzzi Bunz and am having serious leak issues! Here is the problem - I have 9 used (thanx to ebay) and 12 new and they all leak! Doesn't matter new or used. I have prewashed everything per the manufactuars instructions. Here are the combo's of inserts that I have used:<br>
- one regular cotton babies insert<br>
- one regular/one hemp<br>
- two hemps<br>
- one regular/one prefold<br>
- one regular/one MOE<br>
- two regulars<br><br>
I have eliminated "onsies" from my daughters attire. I have made sure the pants are not to snug.<br><br>
My daughter is 7 months old, 23 pounds, and 12 1/2 inch thighs, therefore these are all size large (which is the correct size per Fuzzi Bunz)<br><br>
I change her all the time, she rarely ever sits in a soaked diaper. BUT the urine is constantly leaking through! At night it even soaks the sheet. During the day it soaks her pants, mostly around the thighs. The poop has never leaked thank goodness, but I need some serious advice before I give up! I really want this to work.<br><br>
Thanks a bunch,<br>
Sarah

·
Registered
1,792 Posts
That sounds pretty frustrating! A few things to watch... make sure that the inserts aren't bunched up (I get that now and again and it makes for wet times!)<br><br>
try putting the MOE microfibre on top so it's the first thing the pee hits. They absorb really fast so should be able to deal with a fast peeing child.<br><br>
Are all your cotton and hemp inserts well broken in? They should absorb right away if you sprinkle water on them. If they don't, wash them on HOT or boil them to get excess oils out (this is how you break in prefolds. I know hemp can sometimes have a break in period but I'm actually grasping at straws here. I doubt this is the problem...!)<br><br>