Mothering Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a 36 year old female. I had a very heavy period weeks ago that bordered on hemmorage. I also have PCOS. Went to GP, iron stores are at 2 and hemo is at 8.5. Very Low. Doctor suggested iron/blood transfusion if levels don't go up next week. Went to GYN, who did not see fibroids and rx'd BCP.

My question:

1) How can I bring iron levels up. I am taking supp fe tab 3x per day, eating iron rich foods and taking vit. c to help with absorption. Is there anything else I should be doing?

2) I am keeping hydrated as well

3) The doctor scared me a little. Is it okay to drive/do daily tasks with levels that low. I am resting as much as possible but am needing to go about daily life. Any advice you could give would be much appreciated.

Thank you!

·
Registered
1,589 Posts
HI,
I am not an expert but saw that your post has been here a couple days so I thought I'd give you my experience.

I have the same problem. A few years ago, I had been pregnant/breastfeeding for 4 years and my iron stores and hemoglobin were at the same level. In fact, my hemoglobin has varied between 7.9 and 11 this whole time.
The dr. suggested that my body was depleted from pregnancy/bf plus I was having heavy periods. The iron supp/vit c wasn't enough and I did start having iron IV's weekly so that I could avoid a transfusion. It took several months of that plus the supplements to get it up to about 11 and almost normal iron stores.

I was pregnant again during this time and am now still breastfeeding so I do not want to take bcp. The alternative they suggested was Mirena because it is not systemic, just local hormones. Unfortunately, it interferes with a med that I have to take.

Since that time, I have continued to have them periodically, the frequency depends on my blood levels that they test each time.