Mothering Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
401 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've got sloppy prefolds :LOL
I've tried jelly roll and newspaper folds on my oldest DD with my toddler prefolds and a snappi.

The only problem I'm having is that I can't seem to get the thighs tight enough to stay that way. Is there a trick to folding or fastening that will help with this? I read through Karen's diaper pages and didn't see anything on this.

I'm certain that toddler is the right size for her, so it's not a size issue.

I don't have any pins, yet, but that's just because I'm new to prefolds and I'm just experimenting and having a little diapering fun. The snappi seems to work better than I thought it would - the waist is plenty tight.

(and where is your favorite place to buy Dritz pins?)

·
Registered
33 Posts
I don't know what jelly roll or newspaper folds are but I do two basic folds. I either twist the dipe or I fold it in thirds (back wider than the front). With the first fold, I snapi at the waist b/c the thighs just seem to be tight already and I only ever have trouble with leakage from the back. With the second fold, I fasten just above the hips. Fastening it at the hips instead of the waist virtually stopped any leakage at the thighs.

With both folds, I really shape the dipe to her legs. My dipes always hold just a bit better than dh's as a result.

·
Registered
2,119 Posts
No matter what fold I use, and I have tried them all, I can never get a tight fit around the thighs. It drives me nutty because my son has these huge, sloppy looking prefolds on and I just end up kicking myself and pissing the baby off as I try to make the thighs tighter.

·
Registered
1,721 Posts
Whatever fold I am using, I find the best way to get a good fit around the thighs is to have the diaper higher in the back and shorter in the front. Then, when I snappi it seems to pull the diaper up in front and more snug around the thighs.

·
Registered
1,203 Posts
Quote: