Mothering Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
81 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I don't know if I even am, or if we did, I'm sure he wouldn't sleep the whole night in it. But, I'm newly pregnant and constantly needing to move to new positions to get comfortable and I think I may be waking up ds (28 months) more than he would normally. And when he wakes up, he of course wants to nurse, which of course makes it harder for me to get comfortable!

I'm just beginning to consider having him go to sleep somewhere else to start out with? Anyone else done this??? Would we all get a better night's sleep?

·
Registered
588 Posts
We moved my son to his bed around 2 years old. I was pregnant, too. The transistion actually went really well. We started a consistent bed routine, stories, nursing, etc. The first few months he would wake up quite a bit so I spent a lot of time going back and forth between rooms. Quite often I would end up falling asleep in his bed. But, I still seemed to get a better nights sleep because we only had a queen bed and DS was taking up quite a bit of room. Anyway, over time he went to waking one time a night and eventually he would sleep all the way through the night.

Just a warning, after my DD was born my DS regressed a bit, sleep wise. He went from sleeping throught the night to waking up several times and calling for me. So I was getting up quite a bit again. Between his wakings and DD waking I got very little sleep! DD is almost 3 months old now and DS is back down to waking up once a night. It's always on the dot at 3.30 am. He is still nursing so I just give him a quick nurse and go back to bed. Sometimes I fall asleep in his bed and will wake up when I hear DD wake up in my bed.

Oh, and I would skip the toddler bed completely and just go to a twin or larger. Since I spend quite a lot of time in DS's bed (reading stories, lying down to nurse etc.) there is no way I would be comfortable in a toddler sized bed.

·
Registered
250 Posts