Mothering Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1,206 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Mods - this is more of a special needs post than Health and Healing because it relates to my DS' issues.

Anyway, this morning I got a call from the vet that our cats have Giardia. At first I was shocked because our cats just don't fit the profile (I'm a vet tech and have seen lots of cases of Giardia) but then the wheels started turning in my head.

A few months ago, DS1's doctor wanted to do a trial of metronidazole despite only negative stool tests (yes, I know a negative doesn't mean an individual isn't infected). I balked at the idea, because we didn't fit the stereotypical lifestyle of someone infected with giardia (we don't camp, hike, live rurally etc.) Plus, metronidazole is a nasty drug and I didn't want to put my child through that unless it was totally necessary. Also, I knew that Giardiasis was generally a self-limiting disease and since this had been going on for 3.5 years I was a bit skeptical. I didn't factor in that with his health issues (asthma, allergies) that that would make him less able to fend off something like this and he could have a chronic infection.

Then, a couple of months ago, when we saw the dietician, she felt that the elevated eosinophil level in DS1's bloodwork indicated parasites and wanted to do a trial of dewormer. I didn't disagree with her that elevated eos can indicate parasites, but when I asked her whether she felt it could also be because of his allergies, she kind of brushed that off and I started to get the impression that she thinks everyone has parasites and should be treated and wasn't interested in another explanation.