Mothering Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
18,562 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
<p>My workplace just announced this policy. Either you get the shot or you provide proof/letter from a doctor stating you cannot get the shot. They have been very strict about the reasons a person would be excused by a medical doctor. I think the only reason is known allergies. I work with a nurse who has anaphylactic allergies to eggs so she was able to be excused. But otherwise they will fire you. I work as a peds nurse. <br><br>
Anyone else have thoughts about this or are you facing this yourself? I didn't mind getting my shot because I have severe asthma that gets dangerous with the flu and other infections. But i know of a couple of nurses who are very angry about this.</p>

·
Registered
320 Posts
<p>I was required to get one this year because I am in a nursing program and will be working at a clinical placement with a vulnerable population (LTC/nursing home) this coming semester. I really don't have a problem with it. I do feel a responsibility to do everything I can to protect the people I am caring for. I typically get a flu shot every year though, due to my work as a doula and childbirth educator. Again, vulnerable/immunocompromised populations .... I would feel terrible if I didn't do what I could to reduce the chance of transmitting something to the families I work with.</p>

·
Registered
2,342 Posts