Mothering Forum banner
1 - 20 of 55 Posts

·
Registered
1,594 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
ok, this has been bugging me for a while. i work in a store that sells CDs, and we do a lot of demos for expectant families. a lot of times they are shocked at how "expensive" the start up for what they consider the easier diapers to be (fitteds&pockets), but balk at prefolds because they seem too hard, even though they are so much cheaper.
i do my best to encourage people to at least try a few prefolds, because i honestly believe that they are one of the easiest CD options out there, and they are definitly the most cost effective. i think they are a great way to pad your stash, especially if you want to use pockets, AIOs, or fitteds most of the time.
so tell me the truth, does anyone here really truly hate prefolds? i mean, everyone has their preferences and favorites. but has anyone tried prefolds and totally disliked using them? why do prefolds get such a bad rap? as someone who started their CD journey using prefolds pretty much exclusively, i just don't get it...

·
Registered
59 Posts
I don't really hate them, but they just don't fit my almost-3-month-old son correctly. He has a big tummy, so to get prefolds that fit around it, I have to buy ones that are way too long for him. The ones I just got have to be folded about 4 inches in length to fit, but they still barely get around his tummy. I'm using snappis and they're stretched to the max!

Plus, they never really look neat...especially after they've been on for a while.

I really want to like prefolds, but until my son slims down, I just don't think I will.

·
Registered
7,813 Posts
I hated prefolds when I was CD'ing dd #1. Just couldn't get the hang of it. With dd#2 I'm finding the prefolds much easier and faster to change then the fitteds.

·
Registered
1,665 Posts
I wouldn't say I hate prefolds but they really frustrate me and leave me feeling kind of inadequate!