Mothering Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I bought a $250.00 Schwinn bike trailer that has a stroller attachment with the intention of using is solely as a stroller. I haven't unpacked it yet, and dh is telling me that it probably functions at its best as a bike trailer. Does anyone use their bike trailer as a stroller? Any problems with it? Is it practical? We just can't afford the $1,000 chariot jogger that we've seen. I plan to use it for our 7 month old and our 3 year old.

Thanks for your input!

·
Premium Member
19,789 Posts
I am not experienced in this, so take it how you will.

The biggest disadvantage to your plan (besides bulkiness and ease of manuverability) is that bike strollers tend not to have individual space for each child. They are also generally less adjustable.

There are a lot of tandem strollers out there for $250 or less. If you have access to craigslist or something similar there may be one for really cheap.

How often do you plan on using the stroller? How does your 3 year old view the stroller? You could be looking for very different strollers if you jog daily vs. once every few months to the zoo vs. shopping and expect both children to sleep in the stroller, kwim?

·
Registered
217 Posts
Have you given it a try yet?

We use our trailer almost always as a stroller for our 4 yr old and 1 yr old. I love it for going on trails. Its Much easier to push than our sit and stand. Also, the girls keep each other company and really don't have many problems with the sharing the same space.

My only complaint is that one of our front wheels wobbles
:

·
Registered
2,276 Posts
I used the bike trailer as a stroller when my daughter was small- pretty much constantly. I got is as a bike trailer, but when I discovered how well it worked as a stroller (and I could put in a bag or two of groceries too!) I used it far more than the stroller.