Mothering Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
351 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi mamas,

I am single and unexpectedly pregnant at 37 with my second, after a miscarriage earlier this year. I am due March 26th. My fabulous son is 10. I am a special education teacher in a very rural community with just a few close friends and a nasty ex-husband, truly living in a fishbowl! The sperm donor is an ex-boyfriend with whom I had a brief encounter last month, and whom I would NOT welcome in my life or my family's...I have wanted another child for awhile, so this must have been meant to be! My dilemmas are several, as you might expect.....added to which is that I have recently begun seeing a man (who has had a vasectomy but with whom I have already discussed having kids another way!) who might not take too well to the idea of dating a woman pregnant by someone else. I am nervous to tell him about my pregnancy. If he doesn't want to deal, that's fine because I am flooded with maternal hormones right now and feel kind of like I just want to be a mom, not a lover anyway. I have read all of your reasons for loving being single mothers, and I agree, since I have been divorced for 4 years. The long term outcome of having two children and being able to move with this baby after my older child has "flown the coop" WHEREVER we want to go is enticing! Not having a dad involved is, too, although I struggle with the morality of keeping this information from the birth dad. Lots of questions in my mind....