Mothering Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
759 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Alright ladies, we must get our gardens growing before we are busy with babies! Please share your gardening plans and where you live.

My husband is finally building me some raised beds and a salad table in our backyard since we are finished (at last) with the renovations. I have been gardening in my front yard for the past three years and will love having a more secluded area for me to work in without worrying about the girls running into the street. I will, however, keep a patch of corn, potatoes and herbs going in the front yard, though. I do think that front yard gardening rocks if it's your only available space. It encourages others in your neighborhood to consider growing food, not lawns.

I order seeds from bountifulgardens.org. I really like the work that they are doing and their seeds are all heirloom or open-pollenated. I started my seeds in flats and will eventually plant the following:

Festivity Corn, Organic
mary washington asparagus
Carrot Mix
Festivity Corn, Organic
Florence Fennel
Carentan Leek
Buttercrunch Lettuce, Butterhead
Crisp Mint Lettuce, Romaine
Crane Melon
Southport Red Globe Onion, Bulb
Valencia Onion
Chives Onion, Bunching (Scallions)
Super Sugar Snap Pea
Alpine Strawberry
Chard, Rainbow Mix
Brandywine Tomato, Regular
Italian Heirloom Tomato
Yellow Pear Tomato, Cherry
Sugar Baby Watermelon
Verde Tomatillos
Basil
Thyme
fingerling potatoes
russian blue potatoes

·
Premium Member
3,603 Posts
I'm in the NW corner of Oregon and right now I don't have a list, I usually just wing it when it comes time to planting. We are changing from our backyard garden all in boxes, to our front yard that gets so much more sun and is really unused. I'm worried our new puppy we have will tear up my boxes if they stay in the back. But I'm excited for the rain to stop so we can get the project underway and transform our lawn to food!

·
Registered
156 Posts