Mothering Forum banner

best for breastfeeding?

953 Views 15 Replies 15 Participants Last post by  CalebsMama05
I am new to babywearing & there are so many choices!!

Can someone tell me what kind of carrier works best for BFing, mainly in public (like church)?

I dont mind buying more than one kind, I just want one that will work for trips to church, shopping, etc. that I can discreetly BF & one that will be comfortable for day wearing at home ... thats not to hard on my lower back.

Any suggestions?

See less See more
1 - 16 of 16 Posts
subscribing... I was just going to post a thread asking the same thing!

I have KKAFP that is not working well for BF at this point and Sutemi that isn't made for little babies.
i have a maya wrap thats supposed to be good for bf'ing an infant but ds is almost 3months old and we STILL havent mastered it. i do use a nojo sling (padded)for quick trips.
I HIGHLY recommend nursing in a wrap. Wraps have probably the highest learning curve (I was way intimidated until somone showed me), but they can't be beat for comfort and versatility... and discretion, if that's an issue in church. You can use a stretchy wrap like a moby (super soft and comfy), but a woven wrap like a Didymos or an Ellaroo will last you longer, since they can hold a lot more weight.

I just learned to nurse in a wrap about a month ago, and I'm kicking myself for not teaching myself earlier. It's so incredibly convenient.
I've always found the Mei Tai easiest to nurse in because you can quickly lower it then tighten it back up without taking your baby out. I haven't found a way to do that in a wrap. Would love to hear suggestions...

Any ring sling is a snap to nurse in as well, it's just not as comfy as a mei tai for longer outings.