Mothering Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,231 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been coordinating a reunion of a bunch of folks I worked with (Residence Life staff) while I was an undergrad, for this summer. Some of us have kept in touch, some not and lives have definitely diverged in a lot of ways but we had a very close, shared supportive friendship while on staff together (and several of us have maintained that now more than ten years later, hard to believe it's been that long!
: )

Anyway, about half of us are married and have kids, most of the kids being under 4 years of age and probably 3-5 which will be less than a year old at the reunion this summer. And I have found myself really worrying about how NIP will go at the reunion ....

I mentioned it to DH and his response (go DH) was - "If our baby needs to nurse, she can nurse, and they can look away if they have a problem with it!"
Which, normally, I'd agree with 100%.

But -- given that these are people whose friendships meant a lot to me in the past, several of whose friendships (long distance) mean a lot to me even now, and all of whom I respect(ed) .... I guess my largest worry is that I am hoping that it will be a moot issue, I don't want to have NIP even be an issue because I don't want those feelings to change on my part.

On the other hand, I don't want to hide out to nurse or to assume that there will be problems when there might not be. But ... I do know one of my good friends who'll be there weaned her ds at 6 months so she could go out in public again (she was that uncomfortable with NIP). I suspect at least one other mom is as crunchy as I am, but I'm betting that there will be some very main-stream, ff and beyond moms there as well. And, of course, there would be spouses there as well who are completely unknown (mostly) to me in terms of their personalities, etc.