Mothering Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2,315 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,
My husband and I have been presented with the opportunity to buy some beautiful wooded acreage in a great location. Only 15minutes from town! We hope to sell off 1or 2 acres, then built a log cabin (eventually) on another acre. The rest is a horse farm-6 stall barn, riding area, trails, etc. both my husband and I have had some experience with horses, but neither of us really want that much extra responsibility. Has anyone had experience renting out that kind of thing? What we were thinking is having someone else board their horses, give lessons if they want, ride, etc. for a fee each month. We have no idea what to charge, or how to go about, but we need to think about that before we buy this property. Any ideas out there?

·
Registered
2,976 Posts
We rented space for our horse for years. I know that the money made by the owners of the facility was nill as the insurance they had to pay was unbelievable (ie- for insuring a riding stable...).

·
Registered
2,315 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
OOH, I didn't even think of insurance. I currently own a 4 unit Victorian house and know the insurance for a "commercial" property has been unbelievable, I will definitely check into what it is for riding stable.

Did you rent just a stall or the whole barn? Did you take care of the horse yourself? We don't want to have to do the care.

Thanks,

·
Registered
4,216 Posts
I've boarded my horses in the past, and have to say that the owners weren't really making much money. I think they charged enough to cover their expenses, plus a little.