Mothering Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1,112 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
If I'm wasting your time with a question that's not strictly "special needs," please forgive me.

My ds is just 4.5. He's a great kid
but speaking as a former preschool teacher, I don't think he's great "preschool material." He's loud, active, social only when he feels like it. Tests limits. Very high-spirited and emotional. Hasn't napped since before he was 2.

Those are his (imo) "run of the mill" problematic tendencies. If that was it, he might be a trial to his teachers, but not really a huge mismatch with school.

But, he also has separation anxiety. I tried to send him to Mother's Day Out, 2 years ago. He went for about a total of 10 hours, and spent 9.5 of them screaming and crying for me, hitting anyone who tried to comfort him. He has improved-- sometimes he'll let me leave him with his father, or a sitter he knows. Other times he'll throw a screaming fit and be inconsolable. He is still very resistant to letting others (who aren't me) help or comfort him-- again, screaming fit and inconsolable.

He has some sensory issues and phobias. He hates having wind in his face or sun in his eyes. He would not let a teacher sunscreen him! Don't dare to smooth his hair, either. Those are fit-throwing offenses. He's scared of certain loud noises, such as vacuuming and flushing toilets, and the sound of water going through the plumbing.

He's terrified of any toilet that's not in our house. I now work at a preschool aftercare, and ds comes with me. After 8 months, he still resists going to the potty there. He will only use the urinal-- only if I come with him, flush for him after he leaves the room, and let him wash hands in the classroom instead of the bathroom (because the first and only time he ever used the bathroom sink, it made a screeching noise when he turned it on). I can't imagine this would fly at any preschool.