Mothering Forum banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
182 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to having a cat and a baby at the same time. So I'm wondering if cats have some sort of 'sense' about babies. My 8m.o. absolutely mauls our kitten. He grabs handsful of fur, pulls, pinches, and tries to nibble on it's tail and the cat does NOTHING! If I, on the other hand, stroke it one too many times I get a nip on the hand! What gives? Why is kitty so patient with the baby and such the fickle feline with me? And if the baby fusses and the older cat's around, she comes and gives me mean looks until I can go pick him up (this usually happens while I'm in the bathroom), otherwise she's indefferent to him! Anybody else?

·
Registered
1,231 Posts
I've noticed it too. When my youngest cousin was born, we had an old, cantankerous tiger cat who *adored* the baby. She would hop into my lap when I held him, and somehow never scratch him when she landed. When my cousin was older, he became best friends with another of our cats, who tended to be a bully. But she'd follow him around, let him pull on her, poke her, everything else, and never once snapped at him.

Now that I'm pregnant, our four cats will NOT leave me alone.
I have one in particular, a young male, who loves to sprawl with his upper half on my bump, and purr so loud, I'm sure the baby can hear him.

So I'm not sure what it is, but yes, babies and cats seem to have a love for each other. At least that's been my experience. It is a little weird, isn't it?

·
Premium Member
4,858 Posts