Mothering Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
3,371 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello Intactivists! This is my first time posting over here. Just wanted to share a sad situation I recently learned about and see if any of you have heard of this kind of a problem before.

My BIL recently told us that our 5yo nephew wets his pants every day and that this is because "something went wrong with his circumcision" when he was an infant. Apparently he has difficulty sensing when he need to pee because of the botched circumcision. Has anyone heard of circing causing this kind of a problem? One thing that seems a little weird about it is that to me it seems like it's a full bladder that tells me that I need to go, rather than a sensation in my urethra. But mayba it's both. Plus, maybe it's different for males than females.

Amazingly, BIL and SIL decided to circ their baby boy who was born this past summer. Now I am kicking myself for not saying anything before their younger son was born (I didn't know them when the 5 yo was born). We are not very close, but I wish I had tried to find a way to say something.

·
Registered
4,928 Posts
There is little documentation of the neurological damage of circumcision. In men there are two signals of the need to urinate, the full bladder feeling and a feeling in the urethra. They can come together or independently. I can imagine that if the urethra was damaged in a botched circumcision, it could affect the nerves that would send the signal to the brain but I have never seen any research on this particular problem.