Mothering Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
10,284 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Right now I'm a SAHM 2.5 years off the job so to speak. I'm not a good SAHM, I just mean I'm not the kind who can sit down and play with the kids and do housework and love it. I am so bored, so frustrated and depressed most of the time. I'm so glad I can do this but I do wonder whether its really better for my kids since I'm not On the other hand, I don't WANT to go back to work because when I was working I felt like someone else was raising my child. So, I'm trying to determine my long term plan, kinda like a 'I only need to do this for X more years, etc' and give myself something intellectually stimulating to do.

I'm thinking my plan will be to stay at home unitl the last one (hopefully being conceived now) is old enough to go to Montessori school (age 3) and then I'll go back to work. I'm nervous about that. My degree is in Computer Science, in a highly technical field like that, I'm worried about being able to get a job after not having one for 6 years - I could be really out of date, etc. Also before I quit work, I was doing things that were more business and project managment anyway. Long story long, I'm thinking maybe I should go back to school and get my MBA, I could do it part time and be done around the time my youngest is 3 or so. Then I'd be a new MBA graduate and as such be much more marketable and likely to find a job I like close to home with the sort of hours I want.