Mothering Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
3,143 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I have been staying home for five years. This might sound bad, but I am bored of it. In addition, we could use some extra income right now because we are trying to save for a down payment on a home.

So...here is my problem. Since I have been staying home for so long, I do not know if I can get a job that will cover daycare. If I work full time, we will definitely eat out more, but we already eat out a few nights a week anyway. I guess we need to stop doing that
So what kind of salary or part time wage do you think I would need to cover child care expenses? We live in Delaware.

For now, I am not considering doing opposites from my husband, b/c he wants to make sure we have plenty of family time. Maybe we will change our mind, but for now, I am looking for something to do during the day. I guess I am in the information seeking phase of this decision. Thank you for any advice you can offer.

·
Registered
7,595 Posts
I think it varies so much by where you are, you might not get a real accurate answer.

I pay $16.50 per day for my not quite 3 year old. He goes 4 full days a week and stays home with dh the other day.

Dh and I worked opposite shifts for awhile. We still used daycare though so that he could sleep and go to school. And it was rough. It can be done obviously, but if you do go that route, just be patient.

·
Registered
2,479 Posts
Ditto, research daycare options to find out how much it will cost. The cheapest daycare around here is $30/day. We've paid as much as $45 per day. It stinks.

You could also try working PT in the evenings, opposite your DH, at first. Then you wouldn't have the daycare costs and you'd get out of the house and bring in some extra $$. Good luck.

·
Registered
369 Posts