Mothering Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
74 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I am thinking about switching to a midwife. There is a highly recommended birthing center close by.

I could also try and find OB groups with midwives to deliver at the hospital but my first instinct says to go with the birthing center.

I justed talked to my DH about not being in a hospital and he is not crazy about the idea. He is very scared something could go wrong and i could be transferred to the hospital but what if it is 'too late".

I am new to this and have not spoken to any midwives yet so I am not educated at all in this.

Can you tell me how midwives take care of dangers when they are not in a hospital? For instance, cord wrapped around neck..baby comes out blue- can they tell fetal distress during contractions? I guess I want to know worst case scenarios and how it is handled. Distressed babies, bleeding mothers etc
Are there cases where the baby/mother didn't make it/ or injured because they were not in the hospital?

Any info would be great. I need to build my case and I guess resolve some of the concerns/scares in my head. I am 35 and this is my first.

Thanks so much,
Cheryl

·
Registered
1,024 Posts
Midwives can take care of the things you mentioned just like an OB would - cord around the neck, baby not breathing, diagnosing fetal distress. They monitor heart rate during labor and check for the cord when the head comes out (and just gently unwind the cord if it is wrapped). They have oxygen and pitocin (in case of hemorrage).

·
Premium Member
3,205 Posts
In my experience, midwives are great at dealing with short cord/ twisted cord/ short labour-long labour/ delayed delivery of placenta/ blue &or delayed breathing baby, etc. etc.